A Soft Place to Land: Chapter Nineteen

Tony moved in to Marah’s personal space and rubbed her arm soothingly, “Marah maybe we should talk about this at home.”

Marah narrowed her eyes and Tony knew by the stubborn set of her jaw that his suggestion wasn’t happening any time soon.  She wrenched her arm free. “No.  I want to know now.”

He raised his hands and raked them through his hair.  This was the worst case scenario for Tony, but the cat was out of the bag so to speak.  Might as well come clean. “Fine! ” He gestured to the table Marah and Sam had been sitting at, “But let’s at least sit down.  Maybe not try to have the entire town in on our business.”

Marah pulled out her chair and sat with a huff, “I don’t care what this town thinks.  I never did.”

Yeah Tony knew that.  But she was one of Springfield’s native daughters from one of the upstanding families in town.  When they had begun dating the first time she had been the princess of Springfield, and he had been the bad-boy outsider.  It had taken years, and a lot of sacrifice from Danny, to remove the taint from the Santos name.  Tony tamped down the bitterness that threatened to surface.  He couldn’t fathom that Marah would have forgotten all of their history.  “Maybe not Marah.  But I do.”

***

“Knock knock.”

Danny looked up from going over paperwork to see Michelle standing in his doorway.  He threw the pen down and moved around the desk towards his wife, “Best sight I’ve seen all day.”

Michelle laughed as she handed over the white bag she carried, “Arroz con pollo as requested dear husband.”

Danny gave Michelle a smacking kiss, “You are too good to me you know that.”

“And don’t you forget it!”  Michelle closed the door and moved further into the office, “So where is Tony?  I peaked in to see if he wanted to join us but the light was off in his office.”

“He actually has a lunch date with Marah.” Danny sat behind his desk and opened the white paper bag.  The aromas alone wafting up from the takeout box made his mouth water. He looked up from the delicious delicacy his wife had brought him and noticed she hadn’t sat down with him.  “Aren’t you going to join me?  I just might have enough here for me to share.”

Michelle shook her head and smiled, “I already ate.”

“You should have told me that before I asked if you wanted to join me for lunch.”

Placing her hand on the shiny desk top Michelle leaned forward suggestively, “Maybe I just wanted to see your handsome face.”

Food be damned. Danny had another hunger that was much more pressing.  Moving the food to the floor he stood and bracketed Michelle hips in his hands, “Did you lock the door?”

Michelle reached up and began undoing the buttons on Danny’s shirt, “But of course.  Though Tony being called to his own lunch date worked perfectly into my wicked plans for you.”

Danny smiled lecherously as he pulled her in for a kiss, “So devious wife.”

“I learn from the best.”

***

Tony reached across the table and covered Marah’s hands in his. “Okay I don’t know what Sam told you.”

Marah moved her hands back and tucked them into her lap.  She wasn’t getting pulled into Tony’s vortex of smooth explanations before she got just that. An explanation. “Tell me about Carlos Riviera.”

Tony sighed deeply before leaning forward as to not be overheard by the still curious crowd at Company, “Carlos Riviera was a man Danny and I hired to supply wine for Infierno.  He came heavily vetted so we thought we were doing what was best for the club.” He leaned back as the waited brought their food then continued, “Turns out that he came to Springfield with a mission.”

After taking a bite of her burger Marah made a gesture for Tony to continue.

“Carlos Riviera is Catalina’s brother.”

Marah stopped mid-chew.  The burger in her mouth suddenly as appetizing as sawdust.  She took a sip of water to help her swallow. “Catalina?  As in Catalina Quesada?”  Marah’s stomach tightened in apprehension at what Tony was going to say.  Though she already knew it was going to be bad, hell she bore the scars to prove it.

“Yes Catalina.  Seems Carlos came to Springfield to enact his vengeance.”  Tony took a deep breath and continued, “He came to Springfield to take away everything I love because he thinks I was the reason his sister was dead.”  Tony hated saying the words aloud.  Because a part of him still felt guilty.  No he hadn’t killed Catalina but she never would have been at the mercy of Maria had he not been a stupid, reckless, idiot all those years ago.

Marah must have read the distress on his face because this time it was she who reached across the table and covered his hand in support, “You didn’t kill her Tony.”

Tony turned his hand over and laced their fingers together, “I might have.  She almost took your life that night, and a world without you Marah is no world at all.”

“You make my world a bit more interesting too.  Just so you know.”  Marah tightened her hand before releasing Tony’s, “So he tried to hurt you.”

“No Marah.  He wanted to destroy me.”  Tony pushed his plate aside.  Any appetite that he had when he arrived was completely gone, “And he almost succeeded.  That night still gives me nightmares.”

Marah wrapped her arms around herself, “Tell me.”

Tony shook his head, “Marah you don’t want to hear that.  It was a bad night, that’s all you need to know.”

Marah slapped her hand against the table making him jump, “You don’t get to tell me what I need to know Tony!  The man tried to kill me.  So just tell me!”

“Fine!” Tony leaned toward Marah, his teeth clenched tight, “Do you want to hear how I watched my wife lying limp on the floor with blood seeping out of her like a river?  I didn’t know if you were alive or dead.  It was a nightmare Marah.  A complete and utter nightmare.  The one thing that I am actually happy you can’t remember.”

Marah covered her mouth with her hand before again reaching across the table and holding Tony’s hand in hers. “Tony I had a dream about that night when I first got out of the hospital.  I had no idea who I was running from but I know I was scared.  Guess it wasn’t a dream but part of a memory.”

“Yeah well, I relieve that moment almost every night.  And every time you laugh.  Or when you scrunch up your face when you are watching a movie.”

Marah couldn’t believe she could laugh, not after listening to Tony recount that night in vivid detail. “I do not scrunch up my face!”

“Yes you do.” Tony chuckled, “When you are trying to figure out the plot your mouth does this scrunchy thing.  It’s kind of cute.”

“Yeah it sounds real adorable.” Marah was quiet as she thought about what Tony had told her.  About the co-called ‘accident’ that had changed their lives in ways they still weren’t sure of, “I guess he did take me from you though, didn’t he?  I’m not the same Marah.  I can feel it, like the wires are just not connected right.”

Tony smiled and wrapped both of her hands in his, “Marah you might have forgotten what we had together but as long as we both are alive there is nothing that can keep me from fighting for us.  So no he didn’t take you from me.  Nothing short of death could do that.”  He look at her quizzically before continuing, “As for you so-called’ wiring that you speak of, you are still Marah.  You could suddenly dress like a hippie and decide to grow our own food and you would still just be Marah to me.”

Marah smiled.  The fact that Tony wasn’t fazed by any of the changes her memory loss had caused was reassuring.  She knew he loved her, but his complete acceptance of her was…beautiful. “They threw the book at him right?”

“They sure did.”  He was lucky Tony wasn’t the same reckless ass he used to be.  Or he’d be six feet under now instead of breathing tax-payer provided air.

“Good.”  Marah took one more sip from her water, “How about we skip lunch and go over to Len’s? I could use some chocolate right now.”

Tony stood up and kissed the top of Marah’s head. “I aim to please.”

One thought on “A Soft Place to Land: Chapter Nineteen

  1. Pingback: A Soft Place To Land Chapter 19 | Glmanny's Blog

Leave a Reply

