Marony Valentine’s Day 2002

Marony Valentine's day

Valentine’s Day 2002 was a big moment for the Ben/Marah/Tony/Catalina quad.  Thought Marah and Tony are apart they are both very much in love with each other though they are both trying to move on.  Tony is trying to be there for Catalina and the baby and Marah is trying to move on with her relationship with Ben Reade.  Little do they know about the manipulations going on behind the scenes, not only between Ben and Catalina but Maria’s as well.  But needless to say it wasn’t a great holiday for Marah and Tony but it was great angst for the couple!

Marah and Tony February 14 & 15, 2002  Catalina is thrilled to be at the Valentine’s day dance with Tony. When Catalina steps away from the table, Tony removes the engagement ring he plans to give her from his pocket. With his usual flair for being in the right place at the right time, Ben spies the ring and, of course, comments on it. An irritated Tony warns Ben to keep quite about what he just saw –and Ben promises he “won’t say a word to the bride to be.” Later, when he offers a chilly Marah his coat, Ben “accidentally” picks up the wrong one. Marah finds the ring and realizes it’s Tony’s coat.  At the Valentines dance, a sobbing Marah tells Ben she wants to leave. Ben apologizes for grabbing Tony’s jacket instead of his own – he never meant to ruin Valentine’s Day for her. She cries, saying now that she’s seen the ring Tony intends to give Catalina, there is no hope that she’ll ever be with him again. Ben tries to convince her to stay, to prove to Tony that she can have a good time and move on as he has. She just wants to go back to the dorm. He agrees to take her home after he gives Tony his jacket. Ben finds Catalina and tells her not to come back to the dorm as he and Marah will be there. She asks him if he even cares about Marah, or if it’s all about the “stupid bet.” He looks at Marah across the room, talking to Tony… Later Tony proposes to Catalina.

Marah and Tony: February 18, 2002 (Part One) Marah plans to stop living behind her essay and begins to make out with Ben.  Tony proposes to Catalina, promising to take care of her and the baby. Catalina says yes, and hugs him, but stops herself. Tony asks what’s wrong, “I thought this was what you wanted?” She explains that it is, but the way he proposed made it sound like marrying her was “an obligation, a chore.”  She knows Tony still has feelings for Marah, regardless of what he says. He admits it is true, but things are different now. Catalina says that it makes her crazy when she can’t be certain where Tony’s heart is – she does stupid things. Her voice trails off, but she neglects to mention specifics. She says one day Tony will realize they were meant to be together. Catalina kisses her new fiance and asks him to make love to her. Tony makes excuses, saying they should ask the doctor first if it’s bad for the baby.  They are inturrupted by Abuela which Tony uses to sneak away for awhile.  The reality of the bet hits Ben when he sees a picture of Marah’s family and he leaves.

Marah and Tony: February 18, 2002 (Part Two) Maria tells Cat she is happy for her. Catalina eyes her ring, “I’m glad someone does.” Catalina tells her grandmother-to-be that she may become a great-grandmother sooner than she thinks.  Catalina reminds Maria how she always said Cat was the right girl for her grandson. She admits she went off the pill and got pregnant knowing Tony would do the right thing and marry her. She even tricked Father Ray into helping her. Maria seems taken aback. “You didn’t think I had it in me, did you?… So, tell me, are you proud of me now?,” Catalina asks a speechless Maria. Maria pours tea for two as Catalina thanks her for looking after her. Maria says Catalina is “family” now and not to worry, “everything will work out.”  Tony goes to Marah and he tells her that he proposed to Catalina and he holds her as she breaks down….

Marony Valentines 2002

***Some great dialog in this scene***

Marah: Tony, part of you came here tonight hoping that I would say don’t do it, don’t marry Catalina and be with me instead, and a huge part of me wants to do exactly that, and I can’t help that. But I can fight it. Deciding not to be with you was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. But it was the right decision. It was right for you, and your baby, and most of all, it’s right for me, and I’m not going to back down.

Tony: You’re right. About everything– you are so right. It’s just that I can’t… I can’t stop loving you. I can’t.

Marah: I can’t stop loving you. But we cannot act on that. We can’t.

Tony: How am I going to do this? How am I going to marry Catalina? How am I going to commit to being with her, while thinking everyday if I’m going to run into you, and have all these feelings come back again.

And

Tony: To me, Springfield is you. Everywhere I look I see you. I can’t go on and not think about you, so… So I have to go, I have to move. Me and Catalina, we’ll leave town, that’s it.

Leave a Reply

