Happy Anniversary Guiding Light!!

guidinglight (1)

Today marks the 76th anniversary of the first Guiding Light air date!!!  I will not do an in depth post because I probably can’t do the show justice, not on that great of a scale.  For a great Anniversary post check out GLManny’s blog here.

Okay, now my few thoughts:

Saying farewell to Guiding Light was hard.  Some of the happiest memories of my life were sitting with my grandmother watching our “stories”.  She was a fan from the radio days and the end of Guiding Light was my last link to her after her passing in 2008.

But that is the beauty of soap operas.  They have the ability to bind generations together.  My grandma only had boys but she passed on her soap operas to me and I hope one day I will be able to pass this same love on to my future kids as well.

I could never really say goodbye to Guiding Light, not really.  I have too many years and too many happy memories in Springfield.  All the storylines I enjoyed, the couples I remember, the villains that I loved to hate…they were such a part of what made Guiding Light so amazing.  Bringing Marah and Tony clips to YouTube has been a lot of work, but it has also been a privilege.  I am glad that I was able to share that part of Guiding Light with fellow fans.  Just like I am glad that people enjoy what I am doing with this site.  The Light will never fade as long as fans keep it alive.

Lighthouse

Leave a Reply

